Cummings, Hart appointed to Meridian Library District Board of Trustees

Josh Cummings and Destinie Hart have joined the Meridian Library District Board of Trustees. 

The Board voted unanimously to appoint the two new trustees during a special meeting on Wednesday, August 3, following candidate interviews. Cummings and Hart took the oath of office and began their duties during the Board’s regular meeting on Wednesday, August 17. 

The appointed trustees replace Christina Hirsch and Tyler Ricks, who vacated their seats this summer. Both trustee seats will be up for election in May 2023. Candidate filing details and general election information will be available on the Meridian Library’s Board page early next year. 

Cummings developed a love for libraries as a child growing up in the bayous of south Louisiana. The opportunities provided by local libraries led him to earn a bachelor’s degree and subsequent MBA. Following a career in the Air Force, Josh now runs small businesses in Meridian.

“I'm very excited to be involved with such an important organization,” Cummings said. “The Meridian Library District is doing so much for our community and inspires our youth to dream BIG!” 

Originally from north-central Idaho, Hart has lived in the Treasure Valley for over 12 years. A mom of four and a volunteer dedicated to several local causes, she is passionate about early literacy and access for underserved communities. She has a master’s degree in public administration from Boise State University and works in nonprofit development.

“I look forward to working with the Board to continue providing excellent value and service as we expand to meet the diverse needs of our growing community,” Hart said. “It’s a great time to get the word out about the fantastic services the Meridian Library provides! I’m honored to lend my skills and experience to the MLD Board and to be a part of such an impactful piece of our Meridian community.” 

The Board of Trustees oversees the District’s budget and policies. Meridian Library District residents elect trustees to serve 6-year terms, and elections are held every odd-numbered year.